Mercury Orchestra
Mercury Orchestra in concert


REVIEW: Mercury Orchestra revives an American gem with Beach’s “Gaelic” symphony —Boston Classical Review

PREVIEW: Beach Storms Esplanade —Boston Musical Intelligencer

PREVIEW: In a rare concert, the return of Amy Beach —Boston Globe

PREVIEW: Irish themes, reimagined in music —Boston Globe

REVIEW: Mercury Ascendant —Boston Musical Intelligencer

REVIEW: Mercury (Orchestra) rises in Boston Landmarks’ muggy summer sendoff—Boston Classical Review

REVIEW: Mercury Meets Its Challenges —Boston Musical Intelligencer

REVIEW: Mercury Beats Heat —Boston Musical Intelligencer

REVIEW: Playing Passionately with Mercury—The Boston Musical Intelligencer
REVIEW: Playing Passionately with Mercury—The Boston Musical Intelligencer

REVIEW: Mercury Orchestra at Sanders Theatre: A radiant Mahler —Boston Concert Reviews

REVIEW: Mercury Orchestra Plays Like a Pro—The Boston Musical Intelligencer

When summer comes, Mercury Orchestra rises up —Cambridge Day

REVIEW: Mercury Orchestra a Marvel in Mahler 6 —The Boston Musical Intelligencer

Mercury Orchestra profiled in The Boston Globe’s “Classical Notes”

Channing Yu wins 2010 American Prize in Orchestral Conducting

Mercury Orchestra is selected as the national winner of the 2010 American Prize in Orchestral Performance

The American Prize

Find Mercury Orchestra on Facebook

Follow mercuryorch on Twitter


SATURDAY, AUGUST 27, 2022 . 7:30 pm

Mercury Orchestra
Channing Yu, conductor
Nan Ni, piano

BEETHOVEN Overture to Coriolan
BEETHOVEN Piano Concerto No. 5 “Emperor”
BEETHOVEN Symphony No. 5

The Mercury Orchestra presents an odyssey of the individual against the forces of fate, through the revolutionary music of Ludwig van Beethoven. Written for Heinrich Joseph von Collin's 1804 tragedy Coriolan, the Coriolan Overture juxtaposes the stirrings of war with a mother's pleas for peace. The fifth piano concerto, dedicated to Beethoven's patron, the Archduke Rudolf, epitomizes Beethoven's middle or heroic period, defining a new relationship between soloist and orchestra. The Fifth Symphony, universally known for its opening "fate-motif", is not only a towering edifice but also an intimately sublime portrait of individual struggle.

Piano soloist Nan Ni is the First Prize winner of the first Fou Ts’ong International Piano Competition (2022) sponsored by the Foundation for Chinese Performing Arts.

Running time: Approximately 1 hour 50 minutes, with intermission

> Read about the composer and pieces

Jordan Hall, New England Conservatory
30 Gainsborough St., Boston, Massachusetts
Parking available for a fee at Gainsborough Garage

NOTE: This performance has already taken place.

Free Admission. Suggested donation $10 at the door.
Age 6 and under not admitted.

More about the Mercury Orchestra in:

Cambridge Day

The Boston Musical Intelligencer

The Boston Globe and

Wicked Local Cambridge